March 1: From Victoria’s Kitchen– Angel Food Cupcakes

The angel food cupcakes I made to sell during Marisol are pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

I wasn’t sure how they were going to turn out.  I’ve never made angel food cake from scratch before, and it wasn’t the easiest of recipes.  However, thanks to my absolute favorite food blogger (from the How Sweet It Is blog), I was able to create delicious cupcakes.  Yes, I know they are delicious because I ate one.  I had to… I had to see if they were poisonous!

I also had the brilliant idea of making strawberry frosting to put on top of the cupcakes.  Angel food cake and strawberry are two of my favorite flavors put together, so of course I’d try it out!  I found this cook recipe for a strawberry buttercream from Sprinkles cupcakes, but when I tried the recipe I failed miserably.  I failed so miserably that I refused to take a picture of it because I never want to think about it ever again.  Then I found a much simpler recipe that I enjoyed making much more.

The only downside to this recipe was that powdered sugar got everywhere.  I had to do some serious cleaning when I finished mixing the frosting.  However, the frosting turned out gooooood!

Now these cupcakes are good to go for this weekend.  Come see Marisol and buy one of them.  They’re only $1.00 each.  Performances are at 2:30 and 7:30 on the 2nd, 7:30 on the 3rd and 2:30 on the 4th.  Come support TLU Dramatic Media and eat one of these beauties:

Sometimes I really love my life.  :)

P.S. If you want to make these cupcakes on your own, you can find the recipe here, and I got the recipe for the frosting from here.  Now go make your own… but after you come buy one of mine this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

